Buhari Signs into Law Bill granting Immunity to Lawmakers

President Muhammadu Buhari has signed into law eight new bills passed by the National Assembly, including those granting immunity to federal and state lawmakers, and the establishment of a national centre for senior citizens.
Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, disclosed this to State House Correspondents on Friday after the President assented to the bills.
The Legislative House Power and Privileges Act (2018) grants the Legislative Houses in the National Assembly and State Houses of Assembly immunity from litigation for actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings of the House or committee.
It strengthens the power of the Legislators to carry out their Legislative functions, including powers to summon any person to appear before her, give evidence, including power of an officer of the legislative House to arrest any person who commits an offense against the Act, Enang said.
The National Senior Citizens Center Act, 2018, establishes the National Senior Citizens Center in the country to cater for the needs of the senior citizens.
Another bill signed by the president is the National Institute of Legislative Studies (Amendment) Act, 2018, which establishes the Institute and widens its powers to provide training courses and award degrees on Democracy, Party Politics, Electoral Process, Legislative Practice and Procedures among others.
The rest of the bills that became law on Friday are Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement between the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Kingdom of Spain (Domestication and Enforcement) Act, 2018; Rail Loan (International Bank) (Repeal) Act, 2018; Chartered Institute of Project Managers of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2018; Chartered Institute of Local Government and Public Administration Act, 2018; and Nigeria Agricultural Quarantine Service (Establishment) Act, 2018.

Post a Comment