Latest News

Here is the full list of winners at the just concluded 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards

All the big names in the music industry on the African continent, gathered live last night, at Ticketpro Dome, in Johannesburg, South Africa, for the most anticipated 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards, MAMAs.
The big awards night was hosted by Bonang Matheba, one of South Africa’s most respected TV Personalities, and co-hosted by Nigeria Singer, Yemi Alade.
Once again, Nigerian artistes proved to the world that they are not just the giant of Africa, but the best in entertainment, as they walked away with five coveted awards, even though the host country dominated the list, by winning six awards.
It was a big night for Wizkid in particular. As expected, the Starboy walked away with three major awards: Artist of the Year, Best Male, and Best Collaboration. Meanwhile, co-host, Yemi Alade, took home Best Female, while Tekno, was named the Best Breakthrough Act.
South African Rapper, Cassper Nyovest, picked up Best Live Act, while Emtee was deemed Best Hip Hop. Caster Semenya, is the 2016 Person of the Year. Hugh Masekela on the other hand, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Kenya did not disappoint either, as Sauti Sol, was given the award for Best Group.
MTV Africa Music Awards, shines a global spotlight on African music, creativity and achievement, and the fifth edition was not an exception.
Here is the full list of winners at the just concluded 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards.
Artist of the Year: Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Best Male: Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best Group: Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Best Breakthrough Act: Tekno (Nigeria)
Best Live Act: Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Best Hip Hop in association with MTN: Emtee (South Africa)
Song of the Year in partnership with Google: “My Woman, My Everything” Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
Listener’s Choice: Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Video of the Year: “Niquer Ma Vie” – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon
Best Pop and Alternative: Shekinah & Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)
Best Francophone: Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Best Lusophone: C4 Pedro (Angola)
Personality of the Year in association with DSTV: Caster Semenya (South Africa)
Legend Award: Hugh Masekela
Best Collaboration in partnership with ABSOLUT: DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Buckz – “Soweto Baby” (South Africa/Nigeria)
Africa Reimagined: Vivian Onano and Mary Taedzerwa
Best International: Drake (USA)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed in comments are those of the comment writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of

LinkNaija | Nigeria's popular news platform Designed by Jastaco Techlogies Copyright © 2017

Powered by Blogger.