Latest News

BREAKING: Buhari SACKS Heads of JAMB, NECO, 15 Others, Appoints 14 Profs As Replacements: See Full List

There was major shake-up in the education sector of the nation yesterday as President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday purged the  sector by sacking 17 helmsmen and approved the appointments of 17 new chief executives heads for some parastatals and agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education, has learnt

In a statement according to the ministry on Monday said the appointment was with immediate effect.

The affected agencies include the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board,  the Universal Basic Education Commission and the National Universities Commission.

Others are the National Library of Nigeria, the National Examinations Council and the Nomadic Education Commission, among others.

The appointees are;

  1. Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, NUC; 
  2. Dr. Hameed Bobboyi, UBE; 
  3. Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, JAMB; 
  4. Prof. Charles Uwakwe, NECO; 
  5. Prof. Lilian Salami, Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration; 
  6. Prof. Lanre Aina, National Library of Nigeria; 
  7. Prof. Abba Haladu, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education; 
  8. Prof. Bashir Usman, Nomadic Education Commission and 
  9. Prof. Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe, National Business and technical Examinations Board.
  10. Prof. Sunday Ajiboye, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria; 
  11. Afolabi Aderinto, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria; 
  12. Prof. Bappah Aliyu, the National Commission for Colleges of Education; 
  13. Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and 
  14. Prof. Garba Dahuwa Azare, National Teachers Institute.
  15. Prof. Michael Afolabi as the new head of the Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria; 
  16. Prof. Steven Ejugwu Onah, National Mathematical Centre; and 
  17. Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche, National Institute of Nigerian Languages.

The President was said to have also retained some chief executives.

They include, Prof. Samaila Junaidu, Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council; Prof. Rauf Adebisi, Nigerian French Language Village; Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure, National Board for Technical Education; and Prof. Muhammad Mu’az, National Arabic Language Village.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed in comments are those of the comment writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of

LinkNaija | Nigeria's popular news platform Designed by Jastaco Techlogies Copyright © 2017

Powered by Blogger.